Harvard Division of Continuing Education, Cambridge, United States

The Division of Continuing Education is a part of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS) at Harvard University. It is responsible for various undergraduate, graduate and non-degree programs in fields such as liberal arts, information technology, social sciences, religion and environmental management. While non-degree programs have an open enrollment policy, degree programs do require a formal Harvard University admissions process, and full tuition on a per-course basis. Admitted students have full access to Harvard's faculty, laboratories, library system and facilities.ProgramsCurrently, the Division of Continuing Education comprises five major programs: The Harvard Summer School The Harvard Extension School The Harvard Institute for English Language Programs The Harvard Institute for Learning in Retirement The Harvard Summer Secondary School Program The Harvard Summer School, founded in 1871, is the first academic summer session established in the United States. Each summer more than 5,000 students of all ages come to Harvard from across the U.S. and more than 100 foreign countries to study for seven weeks with faculty from Harvard and other major American and foreign universities. The Summer School offers approximately 300 daytime and evening classes in more than forty disciplines in the sciences, humanities, writing, economics, computer science, and over a dozen foreign languages.The Harvard Extension School, founded by Harvard University President A. Lawrence Lowell in 1910 as an academic program designed to serve the educational interests and needs of the greater Boston community, now additionally serves students worldwide through its online course offerings. The Extension School features open enrollment (the degree programs require a formal admissions process), part-time evening classes, instructors drawn mainly from Harvard, and an opportunity for personal enrichment, career advancement, or study leading to a degree. The school currently awards the degrees of Associate in Arts (AA), Bachelor of Liberal Arts (ALB), Master of Liberal Arts (ALM) in 19 liberal arts fields, and Master of Liberal Arts in mathematics for teaching, biotechnology, sustainability and environmental management, museum studies, information technology, journalism, and management. 51 Brattle St 02138 Cambridge United States
read more..

Harvard Division of Continuing Education, Cambridge, United States

Website Info

Category: University
Found: 06.07.2015


Please write a comment:

User ratings