Department of Telecommunications

The Department of Telecommunications, abbreviated to DoT, is part of the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology of the executive branch of the Government of India.HistoryTelecom services have been recognized the world-over as an important tool for socio-economic development for a nation and hence telecom infrastructure is treated as a crucial factor to realize the socio-economic objectives in India. Accordingly, the Department of Telecom has been formulating developmental policies for the accelerated growth of the telecommunication services. The Department is also responsible for grant of licenses for various telecom services like Unified Access Service Internet and VSAT service. The Department is also responsible for frequency management in the field of radio communication in close coordination with the international bodies. It also enforces wireless regulatory measures by monitoring wireless transmission of all users in the country.UnitsThe following units function under the DoT:DoT UnitsTelecom Enforcement Resource and Monitoring (TERM) Cells, formerly Vigilance Telecom Monitoring (VTM)Controller Of Communication Accounts (CCA) Units (Details of CCA Offices)Wireless Planning & Coordination Wing (WPC)Telecommunication Engineering Center (TEC)National Telecommunications Institute for Policy Research Innovation Training (NTIPRIT)National Institute of Communication Finance (NICF)Telephone Advisory Committees (TACs)Telephone Advisory Committees (TACs)R&D Unit Center for Development of Telematics (C-DOT) Public Sector UnitsBharat Sanchar Nigam Limited (BSNL)Indian Telephone Industries Limited (ITI)Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited (MTNL)Telecommunications Consultants India Limited (TCIL)
read more..

Department of Telecommunications

Website Info

Category: Government Organization
Found: 16.10.2015


Please write a comment:

User ratings