Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College, Mount Gay, United States

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College is a community college in southwestern West Virginia, United States.HistoryThe school was founded as the Logan Branch of Marshall College and the Williamson Branch of Marshall College in 1960 and renamed as branches of Marshall University when their mother institution achieved university status in 1961. It had community college jurisdiction over Logan and Mingo counties. In both cases, the schools were housed in the buildings that had been surplussed by the desegregation of public education.In 1970, the two branches were merged and became a stand-alone community college. The college's jurisdiction was expanded to include Boone County and Wyoming County. Classes in these counties were held in leased locations until 1971, when a permanent building was constructed in Williamson.In the 1980s, the college was refocused and permanent buildings were built in each county.TodaySouthern provides both associates degrees in 2-year fields (career/technical programs), and the first two years of a four year degree, in the anticipation of a transfer to a bachelor's level institution.The service area of the school was expanded by 1995 legislation that divided West Virginia into eleven districts. Southern serves part of Raleigh County as well as all of Boone, Lincoln, Logan, McDowell, Mingo, and Wyoming counties. Dempsey Branch Rd 25637 Mount Gay United States Call: (304) 896-7098
read more..

Southern West Virginia Community and Technical College, Mount Gay, United States

Website Info

Category: University
Found: 02.07.2015


Please write a comment:

User ratings